Happy Luciad!

Image result for galadriel artwork"

11th Brighe – Sunnadi

Today is a special day for many who love the Divine Feminine. For Christians it’s Candlemas (as well as St. Brigid’s day yesterday), for Wiccans it’s Imbolc and for us Filianists it’s Luciad or Lucidi to Janites. Also called the Feast of Lights. It commemorates the third chapter in our Mythos of the Divine Maid; when the Holy Daughter reaches maturity and is tasked by Our Mother to take up the mantle of Princess of the World and carry the Light of Déa to all those who have turned from Her.

And why yes I am using Galadriel as a depiction of Her because I’m partly annoyed at myself that I never made the connection to her being ‘Lady of Light’ before! Also I wanted a change from using Disney princesses.

This is one of my favourite Filianic holidays (which I know I say about most of them, shush). As we don’t view our Mythos as a historical record but rather a description of infinite cyclical events, this time always serves as a reminder of how Our Lady is present with us. How She walks with us, comforts us, ministers to us, nourishes and protects us. She is forever our Princess and Priestess. While, as I posted before, it’s delightful to think of Janah as a little child encouraging us to play, there is also something majestic to visualise Her as a glorious maiden, full of wisdom and compassion, now ready to lead us by the hand and be our saviour – before She has even taken up Her painful quest for us.

“Every soul on earth and in the heavens shall be given into Your care, and the highest stars of the firmament shall know You as their Sovereign.” (M 3:4)

“And the Maid ruled over all the world, making the earth grow fruitful and attending to the prayers of Her creatures, and oftentimes making prayers of Her own that they might come closer to the Mother. And Divine Light shone once more upon the earth, and the Maid was a friend to every creature, and all who turned to Her were filled with life, and with the peace that comes of wholeness.” (M 3:6-7)

I love picturing Janah Sophia kneeling beside me when I pray. There was a recurring teaching given back when I was a Gnostic to pray ‘not in twoness but oneness’. Visualising Her holding my hands and being the bridge between myself and the Mother helps me find that oneness.

May Her light shine upon you even in the darkest of times. Blessed is She.

Leave a comment